First Fantasy Session

Posted: January 18, 2011 in Fantasy Basketball
Tags: , , , , ,

So I had this idea last night that I should start to utilize all the time I spend looking at Fantasy sports stuff. So I decided to create a blog where I will post fantasy sports advice. It will range from practical stuff like who you should add or drop, players that are on the rise, and player injury notes. I will also put up some of my personal take on stuff I will write some stuff on guys that I have fantasy man crushes on (Serge Ibaka, Josh Smith, Rajon Rando, Dwight Howard to name a few), players that I can’t stand even though they might add fantasy value (Manu Ginobili, Dirk Nowitzki, and Lamar Odom), and possibly try to put a little humor in (this will be the thing I probably will be worst at, but always worth trying right?). So if you are viewing this for the first time thanks for the interest. I will start slow probably just one post/article a week, and see where it goes from there. Let the fantasy sports blog begin!

First things first, “why should/would you listen to me on advice for fantasy stuff?” Well you probably shouldn’t because fantasy sports are a gamble. We all know who is doing well and we all know who is doing poorly. But I do spend about 3-4 hours a day watching sports, reading articles, and cultivating my fantasy teams. I will make some bad calls along the way, but I probably will make a lot of good calls too. SO don’t use this as “the whole truth and nothing but the truth so help you God.” But rather as a guide to help you make an educated decision for your fantasy team.
Second, I do about 2-4 teams per major fantasy season (NFL, MLB, NBA sorry NHL not enough time or interest for you) and I finish in the top 3 in about every league I do. Obviously some leagues are more competitive than others, and at times my teams just tank but thats the beauty of fantasy sports. These are just 2 small reasons why I could help you with your fantasy team(s).

Now for the good stuff.
All-in (these are players that are performing very well over the last 14 days and might be worth an add.)

Amir Johnson (Tor-PF) He is back from injury and in his last 8 games is averaging 10 points, 7 boards, with a nice 2 As,t and even a block. The best thing about Amir is his high FG% which is over .700 in those 8 games. So if you need FG%, Blk, or just a decent plug in for a couple of games he could be a good add.

Chris Douglas-Roberts (Mil-SG,SF) Chris is finally starting to get some quality minutes for Mil and he is contributing across the board. His line in his last 7 games; over 25 min a game .518 from the field over .800 from the FT line, 1 3 a game, about 11 pts, 1 stl and 1 blk, all this with under 1 TO a game. He probably isn’t going to win you a fantasy matchup with his values, but could be a huge asset if you just lost a player to injury. Plus the G/F eligibility makes him very versatile.

Manny Harris (Cle-PG,SG) Manny has been running the show for the dreadful Cavs, but he is putting up some decent numbers with Gibson and Mo missing time. He probably won’t be a long term add but he is getting a nice 31 min a game, while putting up a 3, 13 pts, almost 7 reb, and he’ll even get you 2-3 ast. So nothing jumps off the board but he is a good week or two add in my opinion.

Fold (these are players who are still widely owned but need to be dropped because they aren’t doing anything for your fantasy team or you (expect causing you heart burn))

Brandon Roy (Por-SG,SF) He is having knee surgery on both knees he shouldn’t be owned by anyone so drop him NOW!

Mo Williams (Cle-PG) He has been battling injury issues all season, and probably will be the rest of the season. His team has little to play for except for best chance for the number 1 pick. So I expect Mo to shut it down early this year probably won’t be until about early March, but why not just save yourself the hassle and get rid of him. Plus he is barely shooting over .300 and taking nearly 10 shots a game…that is beyond bad!

Gilbert Arenas (Orl-PG,SG) He is having a pretty bad year and the trade to Orl looked promising for “Agent 0” but his minutes are starting to decline because of poor decision making, and just bad shooting. He is a tougher one to drop, but if you are on in the middle of your league and want to make the playoffs then you can pick up someone who is giving you more than Arenas. His numbers are a measly .333 off of 8 shots only getting you 8 points and over 2 turnovers. Stop letting him waste a spot on your roster.

Well thats it for now. Hope you enjoy the first post, and more will come. If you have any particular questions you would like me to address specifically to your fantasy team leave me a comment with your question. Or if you want me to address a particular topic put it in your comment. I want this to be a aid to all those who are in the fantasy sports realm.

Most of my stat acquiring will be coming through Yahoo fantasy sports. They aren’t the best at ranking players but they have an easy to read system. I will be using ESPN, NBA.com, NFL.com, and MLB.com also.

Comments
  1. Will Moore says:

    I am going to use your own information against you

Leave a comment